About Route 40

National Route 40 is one of the major tourist attractions of our Territory. It runs from north to south the entire Argentine territory through the provinces of Santa Cruz, Chubut, Río Negro, Neuquén, Mendoza, San Juan, La Rioja, Catamarca, Tucumán, Salta and Jujuy, from Cabo Virgen (Santa Cruz) to La Quiaca (Jujuy).

The route runs 5.301 km and passes through 21 national parks, 236 bridges and 18 major rivers and the 4,601 km reaches almost 5.000 meters above sea level.

Through Route 40, you get access to important places like El Calafate, Perito Moreno Glaciar, Esquel, Lago Puelo, El Bolson, Villa La Angostura, San Martin de los Andes, Bariloche, Malargüe, Wine Route, Mendoza, San Juan, hot springs, ruins of Quilmes, Valles Calchaquíes, Cafayate and its vineyards, wine route Salta, Train to the clouds and La Puna.

Route 40 has other paved and unpaved sections. In 2006 owned 48% of paved road. Currently progress continues over pavement, especially in the southernmost provinces of Santa Cruz and Chubut. The provinces of Neuquen and Rio Negro have 100% of it paved. Instead Salta and Jujuy have the lowest percentage of paved roads.

A few years ago, some of the routes 85, 70, 74, 7, 64, 65 and 5 have been transferred to Route 40, which is likely to find the old name in situ.


  • In the part of the province of Rio Negro (in the former National Route No. 258) National Route 40 receives the official name of John Mark Herman.
  • The lowest point: just 39 m. above sea level, in the Lighthouse Cabo Virgenes, Santa Cruz. Which is in turn km. zero of the route.
  • The highest point: 4.952 m. in Abra de Acay, Salta.
  • Height at its end point, La Quiaca, Jujuy: 3,460 m.
  • Pirquitas, Jujuy, on Route 40, is the highest town in the country, with 4,271 m. height above sea level.

Esta entrada también está disponible en: Spanish